SatRas wood-pressed high oleic mustard oil tin beside mustard seeds and a jar of paler refined oil

Which Wood-Pressed Mustard Oils in India Publish Lab Data?

September 4, 2026Ridhima Nain

Last updated: 26 August 2026

Almost all the brands of mustard oil available in India mention that their oil has been tested in laboratory. A few of them however provide a specific number which can be verified. This difference is the most useful thing a buyer can learn to see, because "lab tested" describes an activity and a gram value is a commitment.

The differentiation here is not one that can be dismissed as a mere academic distinction. If a label tells you that their oil contains a high amount of monounsaturated fat, it has told you nothing that could ever be shown wrong. However, if a label claims that their product contains 60.1 g of MUFA per 100 g, it could be that a laboratory finds this claim to be incorrect.

It is only the second type of assertion that poses any danger to the brand making that remark, and this explains the rarity of the second type. All the information presented below was taken off a live product page on 26 August 2026, and nothing of it allows distinguishing good oil from bad oil; instead, it only allows distinguishing a verifiable claim from an untestable claim.

What does a mustard oil brand actually have to publish?

Less than most buyers assume. Much less. Under India's labelling and display regulations, a food package must show the FSSAI logo and the 14-digit licence number. The Food Safety and Standards (Labelling and Display) Regulations, 2020 also require the name of the food, the ingredient list, nutritional information, manufacturer or packer details, net quantity and date markings.

"Nutritional information" shows the extent of freedom for it. The requirement is fulfilled by simply declaring the values for energy, protein, carbs, fat and a couple of other major factors. It does not oblige the brand to specify what kind of fat it consists of, including saturated or unsaturated fat, nor does it force the disclosure of any specific fatty acids such as oleic, linolenic or erucic.

So a brand that publishes only total fat is fully compliant. A brand that breaks out SFA, MUFA and PUFA has chosen to go further. A brand that publishes a named laboratory's fatty acid report has gone further still, and has accepted that anyone can now hold the number against a competing test. Each step up is voluntary, and each step up narrows the room for marketing language.

What does the category publish in practice?

On their live product pages, three brands of wood-pressed mustard oil announced the information on 26 August 2026. Each entry was lifted straight from their website, rather than from a press release or a summary.

Seed named Press temperature stated Fat breakdown published Individual fatty acids published
Anveshan, black Brassica nigra, Uttar Pradesh Yes, below 60°C As percentage of RDA No
Two Brothers, black "premium mustard seeds" Not stated No, described as high in MUFA No
SatRas, black Farmer-sourced, Rajasthan and Haryana Not stated Yes, grams per 100 g No
SatRas, yellow Not stated Yes, below 49°C Yes, grams per 100 g No
SatRas, high oleic Raya Hisar 1706, CCSHAU, own farms Hisar Not stated Yes, grams per 100 g Yes, oleic and erucic

The pattern is that revelation is inconsistent all through the board including SatRas. Only one product in this comparison publishes named individual fatty acids, and it is the only one of the five that does.

What is this table not saying?

There are two things that should be noted, not merely assumed. None of the three has done anything improper, since all sit within what Indian labelling rules permit, while the details differ from each other based on the commercial preferences, not the honesty.

The axis under comparison is also quite narrow. Disclosure is just one of the information that goes into making a purchase decision; the other factors such as flavour, freshness, price, and the distance the oil has travelled are not represented in the table.

What are the SatRas figures behind it?

For completeness, the figures on the SatRas side of that table appear as follows, with each row's source indicated.

Per 100 g Black Yellow High oleic Source
Saturated fat 8.2 g 4.9 g 7.8 g Product labels
MUFA 60.1 g 72.6 g 60.2 g Product labels
PUFA 31.7 g 22.4 g 29.1 g Product labels
Oleic acid not published not published 25.75 g (high oleic only) NIFTEM report
Erucic acid not published not published 23.85 g (high oleic only) NIFTEM report

Where does a percentage of RDA differ from a gram value?

More than it looks. This is the single most useful piece of label literacy an oil buyer can have.

The phrase "29% unsaturated fat, 5% saturated fat" gives a portion in relation to the reference daily values. Such declarations for average daily intake purposes is a valid way to present nutrition information. However, this practice does not allow for the comparison of different oils as it depends on the serving size and on the reference values used, and neither is standard across brands.

A per-100 g gram value has no such problem. 72.6 g of MUFA per 100 g means the same thing on every label in the world, which is why it can be compared and why it can be checked. If you want to know whether oil A carries more monounsaturated fat than oil B, grams per 100 g answers it and percentage of RDA does not.

The information here is not worth taking offense at. A company that is working with RDA figures is doing so only in accordance with accepted practice and is not hiding anything. It just shows that other figures cannot provide any comparisons.

What does a missing number actually mean?

Usually nothing sinister. Resist the temptation to read it as one.

Fatty acid analysis by gas chromatography costs money per batch, and a brand pressing several oils across several pack sizes faces that cost repeatedly. Small producers often test for compliance and safety without commissioning the full profile, which is a reasonable commercial decision rather than evasion.

An instance in which silence provides information exists. Mustard oil is naturally rich in erucic acid which is why it is not allowed to be used as cooking oil in the U.S. The Codex Alimentarius states that mustardseed oil contains from 22.0 to 50.0% of its fatty acids in the form of C22:1, which is a very broad range.

When a brand markets an oil as low in erucic acid without publishing the figure, that is a claim doing work that a number could settle in one line. The recognised low-erucic threshold sits under 2%, and very little traditional Indian mustard oil approaches it.

The SatRas high oleic oil publishes 23.85 g of erucic acid per 100 g on its report, a figure stated for that SKU. That is roughly half the 40 to 50 g typical of conventional mustard oil, and it is still around twelve times the low-erucic threshold.

It is a real reduction and it is not a low-erucic oil, and the reason to state both halves of that sentence is that the published number makes the first half checkable and the second half unavoidable. Our guide to which tests a mustard oil lab report should include covers what else a report ought to carry.

Where do other brands disclose more than SatRas?

In three places. A comparison that skipped them would not be worth reading.

Seed identity on the everyday oil. Anveshan names the botanical species and the growing region for its black mustard oil, Brassica nigra from farms in Uttar Pradesh. SatRas names a variety only for its high oleic oil, Raya Hisar 1706 from CCS Haryana Agricultural University, and describes its black oil simply as sourced directly from farmers in Rajasthan and Haryana. For a buyer who wants to know what seed is in the bottle they cook with daily, Anveshan currently answers the question better.

A stated press temperature on the flagship. Anveshan states its black oil is slow-pressed below 60°C in a kolhu. SatRas publishes a temperature figure only for its yellow oil, below 49°C, and states none for black or high oleic. A temperature ceiling on the pungent everyday oil is genuinely useful information and SatRas does not currently give it.

Published customer feedback at scale. Anveshan carries a far larger volume of published reviews than SatRas does, and for many buyers that is a more meaningful signal than a fatty acid table. It is also a signal SatRas cannot manufacture.

If seed provenance on an everyday black mustard oil is what you care about most, or if a large body of reviews is how you make decisions, another brand is the better buy. The case for reading a published gram-level report is a case about one axis, not about every axis.

How do you check any of this yourself in five minutes?

Nothing covered in this article involved insider information. Everything claimed above was taken straight from a live product page, and the same check works on any other brand.

Open the product page and search it for the word "gram" or for "per 100". If a fat breakdown exists, it is almost always there, and if the only fat figure is a percentage you have your answer already. Then look at the pack photograph rather than the marketing copy, because the regulated declarations live on the label and the label is usually photographed. Zoom in far enough to read the nutrition panel and the 14-digit FSSAI number.

The next check is the third one which most consumers usually skip. When brands present laboratory results, check the quality of the document. A report worth publishing names the following - the name of the laboratory that made the tests, the date of the tests, the sample tested and the methodologies used. If it is an image of the report with print too small to read, it is simply a design.

Finally, check whether the report matches the product you are looking at. Brands with several oils sometimes display one report across a whole range, and a fatty acid profile for one oil says nothing about another pressed from different seed.

This is how over-reading occurs the most frequently in cases when buyers serious about the purchase are involved. One can learn directly about the rest of pre-purchase checks using buyer's checklist for choosing a mustard oil brand, while black or yellow mustard oil: which should you buy shows some similarities and differences between the three SatRas oils.

What can a lab report never tell you?

Three things. They matter enough to say plainly at the end of an article arguing for published data.

A report describes a particular sample and not your bottle, which is a limit of the format rather than a fault of any brand. It is prepared from one batch on one day, while the tin delivered to your door may be a different batch, pressed from different seed.

Available statistics are data that describe how a manufacturer operates during the time period in question. However, it should be emphasised that the stats in question do not represent a guarantee confirming the qualities of the particular litre you purchased, so regarding it as such is augmenting the importance of the data beyond its limits.

Does a good profile make an oil healthy?

No. ICMR-NIN's 2024 dietary guidelines recommend restricting cooking oil to roughly 25 to 30 g per person per day, and rotating oils rather than relying on one. That is advice about how much and how varied, not about which brand.

A report also cannot show you how oil tastes and more often than not, it is the taste that leads people to buy mustard oil. Factors like its piquancy, the type of seed, how fresh it is, and how it acts when heated in a pan do not show up on any chromatogram. Neither do many people consider the factor that is the most important in determining what oil is good in everyday cooking and that is if the dish cooked with it will taste like an authentic dish they know.

The published literature on mustard oil composition and on erucic acid continues to develop. A 2023 review concludes the human evidence for harm at dietary levels is weaker than mid-century animal work suggested, while stopping short of closing the question.

This article is educational and is not medical advice. Individuals with heart issues or metabolic problems must consult with their doctor about nutrition instead of depending upon a product page.

Frequently asked questions

Do all mustard oil brands test their oil?

Most reputable ones do some testing, because FSSAI compliance requires meeting the standard for the category. What varies enormously is what gets tested and what gets published. Compliance testing confirms an oil meets legal limits; a full fatty acid profile is a separate and more expensive analysis that few brands commission for every product.

Does a published lab report mean the oil is better?

Not directly. It means the brand's claims can be checked, which is a different quality. A published report tells you about transparency and about one batch. It says nothing about taste, freshness on arrival, or how the oil performs in your kitchen, all of which matter as much to most buyers.

Can a brand publish a report for one product and not the others?

Yes, and it is common, because each product needs its own analysis. It usually means the brand tested the product carrying its most distinctive claim. The honest reading is that the untested products are undocumented rather than inferior, and their values should not be assumed from the tested one.

Should you trust a nutrition panel that only lists total fat?

You can trust it as compliant, since breaking fat into saturated, monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fractions is not mandatory in India. What you cannot do is compare it with anything. A panel showing only total fat gives you no basis for choosing between two oils, since all edible oils are close to 100 g of fat per 100 g.

Does a higher price mean more disclosure?

No, and the two are close to uncorrelated in this category. Some of the most expensive premium oils publish only qualitative claims, and some mid-priced ones publish full breakdowns. Price in Indian edible oil tracks packaging, pack size and marketing spend at least as much as it tracks testing.

Is an unrefined oil without a published report worth buying?

Often, yes. A trusted local kolhu publishes nothing at all and produces excellent fresh oil, and plenty of good brands never commission a full profile. Published data matters most when you cannot personally vouch for the producer, which is exactly the situation when buying an unfamiliar brand online.

More articles

Comments (0)

There are no comments for this article. Be the first one to leave a message!

Leave a comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published